Town News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Election 2013

Post Date:07/15/2013

Gaspar VotesUPDATE 8/26/13: The following candidates have qualified for the November 5 ballot:

  • Maryann Moise Derwin (incumbent)
  • Bud Eisberg
  • Craig Hughes
  • John Richards (incumbent) 

The next scheduled municipal election will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2013, when voters will elect three Town Council members. The three Council seats up for election this year are due to expiring terms for Mayor John Richards and Councilmembers Maryann Derwin and Ted Driscoll. Council seats are for a four-year term which means the three open seats will expire in December 2017. Also on the ballot will be a measure asking residents if they wish to extend the reduction in the Utility Users' Tax (UUT) from 5.5% to 4.5% through June 30, 2018.

  • For information on the responsibilities and activities of a Councilmember, please click here.
  • For information on the Utility Users' Tax, please visit

Please mark your calendar for a Candidate Forum sponsored and moderated by the League of Women Voters. This will be held on Tuesday, October 8 from 7:00 pm to 8:30 pm in the Historic Schoolhouse located at 765 Portola Road.

Return to full list >>