Architectural and site plan review of specified structures is established in Chapter 18.64 of the Municipal Code. The code establishes a five-member Architectural and Site Control Commission (ASCC) to review plans.

As stated in Section 18-64.010, "The purpose of architectural and site plan review and approval is to promote the preservation of the visual character of Portola Valley, the stability of land values and investments, the public safety, and the general welfare by preventing the erection of structures or additions or alterations thereto of unsightly or obnoxious appearance or which are not properly related to their sites, adjacent uses, and circulation in the vicinity, and by preventing the indiscriminate clearing of property, excessive grading and the destruction of trees and shrubbery."

The Architectural & Site Control Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Mondays at 7:00 pm in the Historic Schoolhouse. To view links to available agendas or minutes, select the Meeting Date from the Minutes and Agendas page. You may also subscribe to receive e-notices of upcoming meetings via our Subscribe to Notices page.

All the commissioners are volunteers appointed by the Town Council for 4-year terms.

Commissioners (5):             

  • Danna Breen, Chair 
  • Dave Ross, Vice Chair   
  • Jane Wilson
  • Al Sill                            
  • Megan Koch   

Council Liaison: 

  • Maryann Derwin (Jan - Mar) 
  • Jeff Aalfs (Apr - June) 
  • John Richards (July - Sept) 
  • Ann Wengert (Oct - Dec)