Photo by Achilles

Election Information

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that because the number of persons running for the Town Council does not exceed the number of offices to be filled at the General Municipal Election scheduled for November 6, 2018, and there are no other matters on the ballot, the Town Council of the Town of Portola Valley, at its August 22, 2018 meeting, canceled the November 6, 2018 election. 

The Portola Valley Town Council appointed the three candidates, Maryann Moise Derwin, Craig Hughes and John Richards, to the Portola Valley Town Council. Maryann Moise Derwin, Craig Hughes, and John Richards will take office at the December 12, 2018 Town Council meeting.

Changes to Voting in the November Election (County-wide)
The California Voter’s Choice Act SB 450, is landmark legislation which fundamentally transforms the manner in which elections will be conducted in the State of California. San Mateo County is proud to be one of 14 counties authorized by the State to conduct elections under the new law. Below is a link to information regarding California’s Voters Choice Act, which changes how we will cast our ballots in November of 2018.

California Voter’s Choice Act

Additional Information & Helpful Websites

Am I registered to vote?
Click here to see if you are currently registered to vote.

I need to register to vote -
Click here to register to vote on-line. You must provide your California Drivers License number and/or the last four digits of your social security number to apply on-line.

In addition to registering to vote via this website, you can also pick up voter registration forms at Town Hall, public libraries, county offices, post offices and the Department of Motor Vehicles. You may also call the Elections Office at (650) 312-5222 and they will mail you a form.

Apply for Vote by Mail -
To become a permanent Vote by Mail voter, print, complete, sign and mail back the permanent Vote by Mail application. The return instructions are at the bottom of the application form.

If you send a letter requesting to be permanently registered to Vote by Mail, you must include the following information: your full name, residence address (in San Mateo County), mailing address where you want your ballot sent (if different from your residence address), the name and date of the election, and your signature.

Applications to Vote by Mail must be received by the San Mateo County Registration & Elections Division, at 40 Tower Road, San Mateo, seven days prior to the election.

Go Green!
Assembly Bill 1717 enables voters to "Go Green" and sign up to access their Sample Ballot & Official Voter Information Pamphlet online instead of receiving a paper version in the mail.

San Mateo County Elections - This election site includes a wide variety of helpful information on upcoming elections. You can also check your registration, confirm your registration status, find your polling place, track and confirm your ballot and request a vote by mail ballot.

Fair Political Practices Commission

League of Women Voters

California Election Code

Should you have questions or require additional information, please contact Sharon Hanlon, Town Clerk at and/or (650) 851-1700 ext. 210.